Mind A-Mazes 2015

*****IMPORTANT!! ADDITIONAL RULE!!*****

by on Sep.10, 2015, under Problem Clarification

Remember!  Teams may not use electricity, remote control, manufactured motors, battery power, fire, CO2 cartridges, gases, explosives, liquids*, animal power, human power or anything else that may be harmful and/or might cause excessive clean-up issues.

 * A small amount of liquid may be used in order to “create a drawing” as long as it does not leave the 4’x4′ area or cause clean up issues.  Check with your coaches if you plan on using any amount of liquid in your device.

Aside from keeping everyone safe during their engineering and building adventures, this also helps keep us true to the definition of a pendulum:

 A weight hung from a fixed point so that it can swing freely backward and forward.

Comments Off on *****IMPORTANT!! ADDITIONAL RULE!!***** more...

Task Order Cards

by on Oct.07, 2015, under Problem Clarification

*Please have your team(s) complete a ‘task order card’ to provide judges on Saturday!  This is simply an index card with the tasks their device is attempting, listed in the order they ‘hope’ to accomplish them in.   No worries if the ‘hoped’ outcome on the card doesn’t exactly match what actually happens for the judges, this is just a way to help visually communicate to judges what to anticipate and look for!

Comments Off on Task Order Cards more...

Question 30 Wall of Spikes or Needles

by on Oct.07, 2015, under Problem Clarification

Question One:  If I have a wall of spikes that me and my team made, can I lean the glove on it and use the bob to push it into the spikes?

Question Two: Can the swing of the pendulum hit a glove that then hit a needle to puncture the balloon?

 

Yes.  This works because the bob is still what is causing the event.  The glove would not pop on its own without the bob pushing it.  IF the glove does pop on its own before getting pushed by the bob, then it would not receive any points.  

 

Comments Off on Question 30 Wall of Spikes or Needles more...

Question 29 A Bell Attached to the Bob

by on Oct.06, 2015, under Problem Clarification

There’s nothing in the rules that says you can’t attach a bell directly to the pendulum bob, is there?

Correct.  You could attach a bell to the bob and have it count as long as the swinging of the bob is what causes the bell to ring. 

BUT…you may not attach multiple bells to the bob OR in one cluster on the device to count for repetition points.

Comments Off on Question 29 A Bell Attached to the Bob more...

Question 28 If the Bob Stops Swinging

by on Oct.06, 2015, under Problem Clarification

Can the pendulum complete tasks after it has stopped swinging?

No, the problem states that the tasks must be completed on distinct swings of the pendulum.  This means that the bob must be still visibly swinging for the tasks to count.  Also, tasks that are mysteriously completed without direct contact with the bob will not be counted.

Comments Off on Question 28 If the Bob Stops Swinging more...

Question 27 Can you repeat a task without getting points?

by on Oct.05, 2015, under Problem Clarification

Can you repeat a task more than four times, but just not get points for it?

 

Yes.  The first four times a task is repeated will be scored.  If your device continues to perform the task that is fine, but judges will not score them.  

Comments Off on Question 27 Can you repeat a task without getting points? more...

Question 26 Bells on a string

by on Oct.05, 2015, under Problem Clarification

Can a bell be hung by a string attached to the same suspension device as the pendulum?

  Yes.  There is no rule about how or where bells can be attached.  Remember, the bob must ring the bell.

 

Comments Off on Question 26 Bells on a string more...

Question 25 Measuring on the Diagonal

by on Oct.05, 2015, under Problem Clarification

1. Is the 4x4ft restriction also measured diagonally (floor to ceiling)?

The 4X4 foot restriction is a box on the floor.  There is no height restriction.  But remember, students must be the ones to carry and move their device with no help from parents or coaches.  Also, all members must have their feet on the floor when they trigger the device.  

 

 

Comments Off on Question 25 Measuring on the Diagonal more...

Question 24 Blowing Up the Gloves

by on Oct.02, 2015, under Problem Clarification

Do you expect the QUEST teachers to bring a blown up non-latex glove to the competition….   Or will blowing up and tying the glove off be part of the 3 minute set up?  Some kids in my class can not tie off the glove.

 

Blowing up, tying off, and placing the glove will be the responsibility of the team.  It would not be a bad idea to have a few spare gloves in hand.  🙂

 

Comments Off on Question 24 Blowing Up the Gloves more...

Question 23 Moving Pivot Point

by on Sep.30, 2015, under Problem Clarification

 

Can the top point of the pendulum string relocate itself as the device works, so that the pendulum swings in different planes and/or directions?

 

Yes.  There is nothing in the rules that states the pendulum can’t travel while completing tasks. 

 

Comments Off on Question 23 Moving Pivot Point more...

Registration Forms Available!

by on Sep.30, 2015, under Uncategorized

Click on the “Forms and Info” tab at the top of the page.

 

Make sure to let your Quest teacher know you are participating in Mind A’Mazes!  Some schools will be having school wide run-offs before the District Event on October 10th.

Comments Off on Registration Forms Available! more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...

    Archives

    All entries, chronologically...