Mind A-Mazes 2019

To clarify, There needs to be a transfer of energy between kinetic energy, potential energy, sound, light, electrical or heat energy? So two transfers of kinetic energy only count as one point? Does kinetic to potential and back to kinetic (or vis versa) count as 1 or 2 points?

by on Oct.04, 2019, under Uncategorized

A transfer of energy between 2 different actions, not 2 different energy types.  You may use kinetic or potential energy repeatedly in a device (be sure to follow other rules in packet though), but the actions can’t be repeated (particularly with similar objects) to be counted as a step.  So think about it more in terms of each specific action in the device – not whether it’s kinetic or potential.

*Is the energy really being transferred (a marble rolling down a ramp is not considered energy transfer for example)? (if not, no point)

*Is the energy transfer a different action (not simply one action causing another similar action to occur – like a marble directly hitting another marble)?  (if not, no point)

*Is the energy transfer action not a repeated action (in sequence, or used earlier in the device)?  If it is, judges are not likely to give a point step for that transfer action.  See clarification below.  If the energy transfer action is used in a different way or with different materials, then judges would be more likely to not consider it a repeat action and give it a step point (once).   For example, a pulley can be used more than once for points if judges determine they’re being used in different ways or with different objects.

*These are 3 key questions judges will be looking for on each device and in teams’ explanation of their devices.

No comments for this entry yet...

Leave a Reply

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...

    Archives

    All entries, chronologically...